Choc Quib Town

So I know SXSW is over and done.  If you asked me how it was I would say, “it was cool”,  but I guess it’s cooler than cool because it’s still coming up.  Anyway, I have a few more highlights to blog about–Dred Skott, Moshito in South Africa, Riders Against the Storm, the Malawian singer that was on our panel, etc.  Oh, and my new insights about these big conferences.  There was so much going on that it is impossible to see everything you want to see.  Then by Friday the pollen had shut me down. I was done.  Three people told me about this Colombian Hip Hop group, but they could not remember their exact name.  When Bill Bragin mentioned it,  “I was like I have to go see them.” He’s only recommending hotness.  For some reason, I thought I would remember the name, but ended up somewhere else at some other showcase because I did not write it down.  I am telling you there was so much going on.

I recently had a chance to gather myself and check out some of the music.  I am not going to tell you how hot it is or how good they are because this video will speak for itself.  Once you watch it you will not be surprised to hear that last year Cho Quib Town rocked SXSW, received a Latin GRAMMY nomination for best new artist and toured London, Paris, Berlin and India.  Tostao, Goyo and Slow make up the group and their US debut, “Oro” was released on March 2nd via Warner-distributed Nacional Records. Check it out here:  http://www.nacionalrecords.com/preview/chocquibtown. The group fuses hip-hop, electronica and funk with Afro-Colombian rhythms to give voice to a community often overlooked in the country’s national identity.  The video “De Donde Vengo Yo” (Where I Come From) is addictive.  I’ve listened to the song  and watched the video 8 times already…

Leave a Reply

