Fort Greene Festival June 26 12noon-10p

So here I am on a Friday night catching up on work, working on a book proposal, cleaning up and preparing for an out of town guest.  Of course, I am listening to Gilles Peterson on GiantStep.net. This music reminds me of DC right about now though.  He’s playing James Blake right next to Janelle Monae and some Cuban rhythms.  Mmmm. Delicious sounds.  I am envisioning 16th and U Street or my late friend’s apartment on Columbia Road and her playing WPFW 89.3 FM. I’ve lived two of the places I imagined I would live-Chocolate City and Planet Brooklyn.  I’ve always thought London, Paris or even Dakar would be next, but I know that I’m more likely to end up back in DC.  It’s all good.
Well, I am Brooklyn-hyped right about now and excited about the Fort Greene Festival.  It’s the official launch of the Ajile L. Turner Scholarship Fund.  Hip Hop artist/actor COMMON is headlining, Zap Mama and Caron Wheeler (Soul II Soul) are both performing.  Rosie Perez, Toure and Malik Yoba are hosting.  Oh, and Malik Yoba is also singing!  Yay!  There are prizes to win, $7 food tastings and I so hope the sun shines all day long.  Thunderstorms were predicted.  Anyway, I am looking forward to my work break.  This has been a fun, but work-filled week!

Check the link for more information: http://www.fortgreenefest.com/

One response to “Fort Greene Festival June 26 12noon-10p

  1. Raquel Wilson

    Dakar might be the next stop for me. Working on being there by year’s end.

Leave a Reply

