Living Life

The journey of life is so fascinating to me.  I’m often resisting the urge to be an observer because  I don’t want to miss out on the ‘living’ part.  I mean, sometimes I wish I could be a fly on the wall of my own life.  I wish I could take notes everyday to be shared later with others.  The lessons never seem to stop and learning is a constant.  When I get stuck in ‘observer’ mode I become like the vacationer who is so focused on taking pictures of everything that he/she misses out on the experience.  Still, making observations can be a good thing.  We get a chance to see ourselves as others do and we get an opportunity to discover more about who we are and where we are on our journey.
I was recently in DC working with this project:   http://www.pressherald.com/news/healing-voices-carry-far_2011-07-29.html  The Pihcintu Chorus performed at ORR’s 2011 National Consultation, Bridges to a New Future. The program was sponsored by the Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) and the Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.   I had a few teachable moments that would’ve been beautiful on camera. These girls were from Sudan, Congo, Uganda, Cambodia, Vietnam, Kazahkstan and a few Americans.
Even though I’ve significantly reduced international travel, I’m still surrounded by international communities of people.
At no point in my life have I ever imagined 1)that my work with hip-hop, poetry and performance would be done with immigrant refugee communities and 2)that I would get so much joy from ‘work’, but it feeds me in powerful ways.  Of course, I’ve passed on a few trips and now my passport hand is itching.  It looks like it won’t get scratched until we head to Nairobi later this year, but I can say that I am happy and I am fulfilled.  I needed to slow down, regroup and get myself focused.  It’s a relief to know that even if I don’t go to ‘the work’, that my heart is so clear that ‘the work’ will come to me.  I’m more committed than ever to living life and staying as present as I can possibly be.  I don’t want to miss a thing. As I circulate my bio/resume for work and bookings, I am affirming that the divine right opportunities will manifest.  Following my bliss…
Leave a Reply

