Rock the Bells: Erykah Badu

When we walked from backstage toward the front some guy says, “Uh-oh, all the Erykah Badu women are comin’ in.”  I turned around and said, “That’s right!” His crew and my crew exchanged laughter.  Then another guy leans in and says, “Erykah Badu is hip-hop too.” It felt like he was apologizing for the other guy in case I felt insulted, but I wasn’t at all.  I proudly wore my label, albeit a stereotype because of my natural hair, but at the moment it felt so right.  I’ve read a few of the online reviews on hip-hop blogs and read that ‘Erykah was probably a good add for the ladies’.  Erykah Badu and Lauryn Hill added much needed estrogen to what could’ve easily been a sausage fest.  Fellas, balance is not only a good thing, it’s necessary and important.  The funny thing is that I know plenty of men who dig Erykah Badu, who anxiously purchase her album, and who acknowledge the brilliance of her talent.  I don’t get why they don’t see that Rock the Bells is an ideal forum for her light to shine.  She gave a phenomenal performance on Governor’s Island and her introduction of Lauryn Hill as one of her heroes was touching and a demonstration of how women must support one another.  Toward the end of her set she got off the stage and moved through the crowd singing and generously sharing her soul.  Rakim said:  MC means Move the Crowd. Well, um…that she did.

http://rockthebells.net/

Leave a Reply

