A Pharoahe Monch Moment

I can’t believe I missed Pharaohe Monch at Weeksville last Saturday! I’m salty with myself for not planning my day a little better.  He’s one of my favorite all-time rap lyricists so I had to share a Pharoahe Monch moment with you.  It’s not going to help me get over the grief of missing the show, but I feel better simply by writing this post.  Whenever I teach the ‘art of emceeing’ class in high schools or with a groups of teens, Monch is a part of the syllabus.  I love the look on their faces when I play something from his 1999 release “Internal Affairs”.  At some point during the class, one of the kids gets blown by his flow.  When I see a listener have that reaction to something that I also think is profound I fall in love with hip-hop all over again.  I’m currently at University of Wisconsin teaching a “Freestyle for Teachers” workshops so I won’t be home in time to catch the next free summer performance, but you can see it!  He’ll be joining Zap Mama and Jose James for a set with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson Ensemble tomorrow on July 9th at Anunciation Park in Harlem 5p-9p. http://www.thecouchsessions.com/2011/07/nyc-miguel-atwood-ferguson-ensemble-feat-zap-mama-pharoahe-monch-jose-james-at-harlem-stage/

Pharoahe Monch “Clap (one day)” Extended Music Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VG_iDZbSZ3I

Purchase his latest CD, W.A.R. (We are Renegades) on itunes:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/w-a-r-we-are-renegades-bonus/id424258341

Leave a Reply

